Nick Howard Takes a Career-First in Night Four of POWRi Illinois SPEED Week

Macon, IL – Nick Howard of Lawrence, Kansas became the 64th different feature winner with the POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro League after capturing his first career victory during night four of POWRi Illinois SPEED Week at Macon Speedway. Starting mid-pack in the 11th position, Howard picked off several cars and worked his way towards race leader Luke Verardi. Working his way through the field, Howard eventually found himself behind Verardi on lap 14 after second place runner Eric Wright looped it off turn two after making contact with Verardi’s tail end.

Coming to green, Verardi again took off, but Howard stayed within striking distance, working to close the gap in the final six laps. Staying patient, Howard waited until two laps to go and made a move to break Verardi’s momentum in the rubber. Heading into turn one on the final lap, Howard carried enough momentum through the rubber to pull off turn two and carried the lead to the line. Garrett Duff of Weldon, Illinois finished third after an impressive run from 15th. Craig Ronk took fourth, while Joey Wirth rounded out the top five.

“I’ve got to give all the credit to my dad and uncle,” commented Nick Howard. “They set these cars up perfect and do a lot of the work. I really didn’t think I had a chance starting 11th, but I always give myself hope. On that type of track it’s tough and I just stuck with it. On the last lap he made a mistake and I capitalized on that.”

“I guess second will have to work,” Luke Verardi said. “One mistake and he capitalized on it. We’ve just got to go from here. It looks like we’ll probably be at Lincoln tomorrow night.”

“I couldn’t do it without all my sponsors,” stated Garrett Duff. “Don Guhl hooked us up with an injection this year, my grandma and grandpa on both sides, my parents, Colee’s Corner Drugs, FTZ. I just wasn’t able to race all SPEED Week because my job wouldn’t let me, so tonight was the first night. I’m excited to be at Lincoln tomorrow night. Hopefully everything goes well.”


Speedway Motors Heat Race Winners: 52A – AARON ANDRUSKEVITCH, Heat 2: 51B – JOE B MILLER, Heat 3: 88W – ERIC WRIGHT, Heat 4: 77W – JOEY WIRTH, Heat 5: 88J – JAKE HAGOPIAN
Toyota Semi Feature Winners: 3 – AYRTON GENNETTEN, 72 – TONY CLIFTON

Mesilla Valley Transportation Feature Winner: 37H – NICK HOWARD
POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro League Feature Results (20 laps): 1. 37H – NICK HOWARD 2. 28 – LUKE VERARDI 3. 66J – GARRETT DUFF 4. 5R – CRAIG RONK 5. 77W – JOEY WIRTH 6. 14 – KURT WESTERFIELD 7. 38 – JACKSON FRISBIE 8. 3 – AYRTON GENNETTEN 9. 47R – TYLER RENNISON 10. 51B – JOE B MILLER 11. 08C – ALLEN COPE 12. 2 – RYAN SHORTHOSE 13. 37 – AIDAN PURDUE 14. 2B – NATHAN BENSON 15. 56 – JOE FALOON 16. 88W – ERIC WRIGHT 17. K10 – KOLE KIRKMAN 18. 2TK – TODD KIRKMAN 19. 72 – TONY CLIFTON 20. 23 – JEREMY CAMP 21. 52A – AARON ANDRUSKEVITCH 22. 88J – JAKE HAGOPIAN 23. 8H – MATT HOWARD

For further information, visit, “Like” POWRi on Facebook and follow @POWRi_Racing on Twitter.

Bookmark the permalink.