Miller Earns Second POWRi Micro Championship, Ronk Takes Rookie Honors

Belleville, IL – Proving yet again to his competition that he is the one to beat at any given track he unloads, Joe B. Miller earned his second POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro League championship. Miller’s three victories helped propel and keep him at the top of the all-time win list within the league, totaling 30 career victories. Miller’s three wins in the 2017 POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro League came at Macon Speedway on May 13th, Jacksonville Speedway during Illinois SPEED Week on June 2nd, and Miller capped the season off in style, dominating Jacksonville Speedway on October 14th. While Miller’s wins played a part in his championship, his consistency was paramount with 11 top tens and nine top fives.

Giving chase throughout the year, Craig Ronk was a thorn in Joe B. Miller’s side for a better part of the final half of the 2017 season. Finishing second by 360 points, Ronk not only captured three career victories in 2017, but also earned the POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro League Rookie of the Year title.

Kurt Westerfield rounded out the podium with 10 top ten finishes and two top five finishes. Taylorville, Illinois native Luke Verardi held on to the fourth position with seven top ten finishes and three top five finishes. Tulsa,
Oklahoma’s Harley Hollan completed the top five with one victory, seven top ten finishes, and six top five finishes. Hollan’s 2017 victory was a career-first with the League, coming at Southern Illinois Raceway on September 16th. Nick Howard finished sixth with two wins, both coming during Illinois SPEED Week at Macon Speedway and Lincoln Speedway. Howard was followed by Jackson Frisbie in seventh. Slater Helt took eighth followed by Nathan Benson in ninth. Alec Long concluded the top ten.

For further information, visit

Bookmark the permalink.