Miller Breaks Ronk’s Jacksonville Streak, Seals Championship

Jacksonville, IL – For the past three trips to Jacksonville Speedway, Craig Ronk has been the talk of the town, but tonight was a different story as Joe B. Miller dominated the 20-lap POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro League feature event and sealed the 2017 championship. Miller’s 2017 POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro League championship is the second of his career after winning the 2012 championship.

Starting on the pole of the feature event, Miller set a blistering pace and endured multiple cautions. In a league of his own, Miller’s machine was hooked up on the bottom, top, and through the middle of the high-banked Jacksonville Speedway. Never seriously challenged until a caution on lap 19, Miller deflected the pressure from Nick Howard and went on to win his 30th career POWRi Speedway Motors 600c Outlaw Micro League event. Miller is the POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro League’s winningest driver. Craig Ronk took third with Aaron Andruskevitch in fourth. Matt Howard rounded out the top five.

“It was a good year,” stated Joe B. Miller. “I’ve got to thank everyone that helps. I’ve got to thank God; I’ve been very blessed this year. Without all of them, this wouldn’t be possible. We’ve had a really good year with all the cars, especially the micro. It makes for a great year.”

“Hat’s off to Joe,” said Nick Howard. “It’s really a pleasure racing against him and Craig. Such good drivers and so much fun. To run top three tonight feels really good. We had a lot of speed, especially there at the end; we were coming on. It is what it is.”

“I’ll take it,” commented Craig Ronk. “I like being up here. It’s fun racing against these guys. I just didn’t have anything for them tonight, but were looking forward to next year. We’ll try running for the championship next year and see what happens.”


Speedway Motors Heat Race Winners: Heat 1: 14H – HARLEY HOLLAN, Heat 2: 51B – JOE B MILLER, Heat 3: 5R – CRAIG RONK

Mesilla Valley Transportation Feature Winner: 51B – JOE B MILLER

POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro League Feature Results (20 laps): 1. 51B – JOE B MILLER 2. 37H – NICK HOWARD 3. 5R – CRAIG RONK 4. 21 – AARON ANDRUSKEVITCH 5. 8H – MATT HOWARD 6. 65E – CHAD ELLIOTT 7. 44 – TREVIN LITTLETON 8. 52 – JASON HARMS 9. 59 – LUKE VAUGHN 10. 37 – AIDAN PURDUE 11. 27 – COLBY SHEPPARD 12. 10 – JACOB TIPTON 13. 38 – JACKSON FRISBIE 14. 1 – CAILIN HUNT 15. 28 – LUKE VERARDI 16. 8 – BAILEY LOGUE 17. 14 – KURT WESTERFIELD 18. 14JR – HOLLEY HOLLAN 19. 14H – HARLEY HOLLAN 20. 22S – SLATER HELT 21. 99 – ALEC LONG 22. 33M – RYAN MUELLER 23. 14T – EVAN TURNER 24. 21A – BLAKE STOLLEIS

For further information, visit, “Like” POWRi on Facebook and follow @POWRi_Racing on Twitter.

Bookmark the permalink.