McDougal’s Career-First Comes as Knepper Memorial Victory

Belleville, IL – Jason McDougal of Broken Arrow, Oklahoma broke through and notched not only a career-first with the POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro League, but also a prestigious win taking the micro portion of the 26th Annual Knepper Memorial. Battling with Luke Verardi and fending off Joe B. Miller, McDougal’s first win came in defying fashion.

Leading the field to green, Luke Verardi shared the front row with Kurt Westerfield and immediately took command. Holding the lead until lap nine, Verardi’s lead using a slow roll of the bottom was taken away by McDougal’s momentum from going the longest way around. However, Verardi took the lead back the following lap as the duo battled back and forth with their respective lines on the track.

With four laps to go, McDougal was finally able to pull past Verardi and fully take the lead. As the laps ticked off, Joe B. Miller and Nick Howard were able to move past Verardi which setup a mad dash to the finish when the caution flew with two laps to go.

Coming back to green, McDougal was never challenged by Miller allowing McDougal to capture his career-first POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro League victory.

“This feels amazing,” commented Jason McDougal. “This was a last minute build. I’ve got to thank my family for getting it done in time so I could go here. It feels amazing to be out here right now in front of a great group of people and at this racetrack. Making tomorrow night two-for-two would be a dream.”
“To push it 110% when you’ve got the point deal in the back of your head,” stated Joe B. Miller. “I knew if we could get top three rolling from eighth, we’d be alright. I’ve got to thank everybody that helps.”

“We had speed there at the end,” said Nick Howard. “I ended up making some adjustments real quick. It just feels really good to run top three. I love this racetrack. It was fantastic tonight.”


Speedway Motors Heat Race Winners: Heat 1: 25J – DELANEY JOST, Heat 2: 51B – JOE B MILLER, Heat 3: 28 – LUKE VERARDI, Heat 4: 5R – CRAIG RONK, Heat 5: 22S – SLATER HELT

Toyota Semi Feature Winner: 65E – CHAD ELLIOTT, 2TK – TODD KIRKMAN

Mesilla Valley Transportation Feature Winner: 73 – JASON MCDOUGAL
POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League Feature Results (30 laps): 1. 73 – JASON MCDOUGAL 2. 51B – JOE B MILLER 3. 37H – NICK HOWARD 4. 28 – LUKE VERARDI 5. 14 – KURT WESTERFIELD 6. 5R – CRAIG RONK 7. 33M – RYAN MUELLER 8. K10 – KOLE KIRKMAN 9. 21M – MATT MORTON 10. 99 – ALEC LONG 11. 32K – LUKE KILGORE 12. 4C – ROB COOK 13. 14H – HARLEY HOLLAN 14. 11 – ALEX MIDKIFF 15. 38 – JACKSON FRISBIE 16. 42 – ANDY BISHOP 17. 22S – SLATER HELT 18. 25J – DELANEY JOST 19. 14JR – HOLLEY HOLLAN 20. 65E – CHAD ELLIOTT 21. 2TK – TODD KIRKMAN 22. 75 – DUSTIN CHRISTIE 23. 19W – SARA ELROD

For further information, visit, “Like” POWRi on Facebook and follow @POWRi_Racing on Twitter.

Bookmark the permalink.