McDougal Doubles Down at Belle-Clair

Belleville, IL – After claiming his first-career POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro League victory in Friday night’s Knepper Memorial at Belle-Clair Speedway, Jason McDougal backed it up by leading all 20 laps of the 13th Annual Charlene Meents Memorial to sweep the weekend.

McDougal started on the pole of the main event, setting a healthy pace from the get-go. Sara Elrod and Holley Hollan battled from the start over second as McDougal stayed out front. McDougal remained relatively unchallenged until a late race caution in which coming back to green Joe B. Miller, who started ninth was pinned behind the dueling cars of Hollan and Elrod. In a split second decision, Miller rim-rode the high-banked fifth mile and was able to dart around both Hollan and Elrod.

With what appeared to be not enough time to capitalize, Miller was given one last shot as a caution happened on the final lap. Coming to the restart, Miller laid it all on the line screaming the high-side as McDougal slow rolled the bottom with precision. Heading into turn three, McDougal never bobbled and carried himself to a second-career victory with the POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro League. Miller finished second, while Holly Hollan captured a career-best third place. Sara Elrod took fourth with Ryan Mueller rounding out the top five.

“It feels good,” said Jason McDougal. “We were hooked up on the bottom all night, never moved around on the top. On the last restart, I could definitely hear Joe B. coming around the top so I got a little worried. It was definitely a good race so congrats to him on running second and Holley Hollan for running third, as well. I can’t thank my sponsors enough for allowing me to do this and I’ve got to thank my family for putting in the time and effort it takes to do this.”
“We struggled early with a little bit of traffic and just started on the pole in the heat race like these last three weekends and it hurt us,” Joe B. Miller commented. “But I’ve got to thank everyone that helps; I’m very blessed.”

“We’re making progress every race against these guys,” stated Holley Hollan. “These two in front of me, I’ve got a lot of respect for both of them. They race clean and we’ll capitalize on this and build for next time.”


Speedway Motors Heat Race Winners: Heat 1: 22S – SLATER HELT, Heat 2: 51B – JOE B MILLER, Heat 3: 19W – SARA ELROD, Heat 4: 33M – RYAN MUELLER, Heat 5: 14JR – HOLLEY HOLLAN

Toyota Semi Feature Winners: 66J – GARRETT DUFF, 28 – LUKE VERARDI

Mesilla Valley Transportation Feature Winner: 73 – JASON MCDOUGAL
POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro League Feature Results (20 laps): 1. 73 – JASON MCDOUGAL 2. 51B – JOE B MILLER 3. 14JR – HOLLEY HOLLAN 4. 19W – SARA ELROD 5. 33M – RYAN MUELLER 6. 4C – ROB COOK 7. 66J – GARRETT DUFF 8. 14H – HARLEY HOLLAN 9. 28 – LUKE VERARDI 10. 5R – CRAIG RONK 11. 37H – NICK HOWARD 12. 65E – CHAD ELLIOTT 13. 14 – KURT WESTERFIELD 14. 53 – SEAN ROBBINS 15. 99 – ALEC LONG 16. 37 – AIDEN PURDUE 17. 4 – BRAYDON CROMWELL 18. 10K – KOLE KIRKMAN 19. 9T – TYLER DUFF 20. 32K – LUKE KILGORE 21. 38 – JACKSON FRISBIE 22. 25J – DELANEY JOST 23. 22S – SLATER HELT

For further information, visit, “Like” POWRi on Facebook and follow @POWRi_Racing on Twitter.

Bookmark the permalink.