Hoosier Tire's Black Hills Mini Sprint Tour Championship

Discussion Forum for the Black Hills Mini Sprint Tour
South Dakota & Wyoming Micro Sprint Racing

Hoosier Tire's Black Hills Mini Sprint Tour Championship

Postby 3D Racing » Mon Sep 14, 2015 1:03 am

Hoosier Tire's Black Hills Mini Sprint Tour Championship Weekend
After an exciting 2015 Hoosier Tire's Black Hills Mini Sprint Tour season, the point championship boiled down to 3 races in 2 nights at 1 fast Heartland Speedway in Rapid City, with 5 drivers in contention for the championship. John Garrigan jr. had a 5 point advantage over Don Taylor, and Tom Peterson, with Blayne Brink and Larry Reub close enough to make it interesting.
The weather was perfect both nights, and the track was fast, with multiple lanes of racing both nights. Friday night's show was a nail-biter with the top 3 cars all starting from deep in the pack. 3 wide racing was the norm for the 25 lap feature, and when the checkered flag dropped, Newcastle, WY's Logan Hershey (20) held off a hard charging John Garrigan (95j) and Blayne Brink (21). Larry Reub and Don Taylor finished out the top 5. Brink collected the SpeedMart's Hard Charger award for the race, starting 10th and finishing 3rd.
Hershey Win2sm.jpg
Hershey Win2sm.jpg (95.36 KiB) Viewed 6305 times

Saturday Night's racing was just as exciting with the track even better than the night before, if that was possible. The first 20 lap winged feature went caution free, with the checkered flag going to Spearfish, SD's Jason Robbins (50), with Gillette WY's Blayne Brink right on his bumper, even pulling alongside Robbins on the last lap, as lapped traffic made for some exciting strategy. Friday's winner Logan Hershey finished 3rd, while Don Taylor and John Garrigan finished out the top 5. Brandon Mills picked up the SpeedMart's Hard Charger award for the race.
Robbins Win1sm.jpg
Robbins Win1sm.jpg (95.01 KiB) Viewed 6306 times

The second race of Saturday evening was an exciting 20 lap NON-Winged race with Friday nights winner Logan Hershey taking home another trophy to add to his collection. Hershey mastered the super-fast Heartland Speedway and also collected the SpeedMart's Hard Charger award for the race by starting 10th and winning the race. Earlier winner of the evening Jason Robbins finished 2nd, with Don Taylor, Larry Reub, and John Garrigan jr. finishing out the top 5. The scariest incident of the weekend was in the non-winged race when Doug McIntosh (23) came in contact in turn 4 with the spun car of 2015's Rookie of the Year Riley Fremont (808) sending McIntosh into a violent flip, causing the only red flag of the weekend. McIntosh climbed from his car shaken and bruised, but walked away.
Hershey Win3sm.jpg
Hershey Win3sm.jpg (89.15 KiB) Viewed 6306 times

When the dust settled (the only dust of the weekend) John Garrigan jr. was crowned the 2015 Hoosier Tire's BHMST Champion for the 3rd year in a row by only 6 points over 2nd year driver Don Taylor. Riley Fremont was crowned the 2015 Rookie of the Year. For more highlights and interviews with the winners, check out the next episode of http://www.BHRaceTalk.com or listen on iTunes or Stitcher at Black Hills Race Talk.


Friday Night
Heat 1
John Garrigan (95), Larry Reub (59), Jeff Wignall (19), Brandon Mills (22)
Heat 2
Logan Hershey (20), Don Taylor (31), Blayne Brink (21), Martin Hansen (16)
Heat 3
Tom Peterson (307), Doug McIntosh (23), Jason Robbins (50)
Heat 4
Riley Fremont (808), Ryan Fulk (9), Brad Olson (66)
Hershey, Garrigan, Brink, Reub, Taylor, Peterson, Wignall, Robbins, Fulk, Hansen, Olson, DNF Fremont, McIntosh, Mills

Saturday Night #1
Heat 1
Garrigan, Brink, Reub, Mills, Hansen
Heat 2
Taylor, Fulk, McIntosh, Fremont
Heat 3
Hershey, Robbins, Peterson, Wignall
Robbins, Brink, Hershey, Taylor, Garrigan, Fulk, Mills, Reub, McIntosh, Peterson, Hansen, Wignall, DNF Fremont

Saturday Night #2
Heat 1
Peterson, Garrigan, Brink, DNF McIntosh, Fremont
Heat 2
Robbins, Taylor, Fulk, Hershey
Heat 3
Reub, Jim Paisley (88), Hansen, DNF Mills
Hershey, Robbins, Taylor, Reub, Garrigan, Peterson, Fulk, Hansen, Paisley, DNF Brink, Fremont, DNS McIntosh, Mills

*307 Disqualified from race #2 (0 points)

2015 Championship Results
1 1597 John Garrigan jr. 95j
2 1591 Don Taylor 31
3 1579 Blayne Brink 21
4 1564 Larry Reub 59
5 1557 Jason Robbins 50
6 1505 Riley Fremont* 808
7 1467 Tom Peterson 307
8 1458 Martin Hansen* 16
9 1433 Ron Fulk 9
10 1369 Brandon Mills 22
11 1338 Logan Hershey 20
12 1113 Reggie Schrank 521
13 1099 Colten Baumann* 24
14 1028 Doug McIntosh 23
15 866 Jim Paisley 88
16 851 Jeff Wignall 19
17 848 Ronald Sadness* 36s
18 759 Nate Hand 2
19 704 Robert Bandy 27
20 672 Karen Deshaw 26
21 502 Brad Olson* 66
22 501 Samantha Swett X's
23 456 Ryan Fulk 11f
24 453 Ed Wagoner 51
25 434 Tyler Mills 14
26 291 Donnie Bandy 28
* Denotes Rookie
User avatar
3D Racing
Feature Winner
Feature Winner
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 11:26 pm
Location: Rapid City, SD

Return to South Dakota Micro Sprint Tracks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests