Rookie Fremont Shines in Sturgis

Discussion Forum for the Black Hills Mini Sprint Tour
South Dakota & Wyoming Micro Sprint Racing

Rookie Fremont Shines in Sturgis

Postby 3D Racing » Sun Jun 28, 2015 5:52 pm

Rookie Fremont Shines in Sturgis
Riley Fremont, the teenage rookie from Spearfish, SD has been on a mission to learn as much as he can in his transition from drifter cars to the world of dirt racing in the Hoosier Tire's Black Hills Mini Sprint Tour, and his persistence paid off Saturday night at the Jackpine Gypsy track in Sturgis, SD. In only his 5th start, and from his 3rd place starting place, Riley caught and passed the pole sitter and early leader Jason Robbins (50) at about lap 8, and after multiple cautions and restarts, managed to keep his black #808 in the lead for the remainder of the 25 lap feature. 12th place starter and Speedmart's Hard Charger Award John Garrigan jr. (95j) finished second, but didn't seem to have anything for the leader, as the track started to lose more grip as the laps winded down. Alliance, NE. driver Jeff Wignall (19) finished 3rd in the feature event, followed closely by Larry Reub (59), who started towards the rear after transferring into the A-main by winning the B-main. Doug McIntosh (23) finished out the top 5.
The only major incident of the evening was when Logan Hershey (20), 2014's BHMST Point co-champion, while battling for the lead in the B-main, was collected up in spinning lapped car and ended up-side down. Hershey was uninjured, but his car was finished for the evening. The defending champ has had a series of bad luck nights with 3 broken motors, a crash, and as of yet has still been unable finish a main event.
The Hoosier Tire's Black Hills Mini Sprint Tour has the week off next week for the 4th of July, but will return to the Jackpine Gypsy track in Sturgis, SD on the 11th of July for the 6th race of the season.
Fremont Win1 sm.jpg
Fremont Win1 sm.jpg (81.92 KiB) Viewed 1594 times

Garrigan HCA1 sm.jpg
Garrigan HCA1 sm.jpg (91.93 KiB) Viewed 1594 times

Heat 1
Jason Robbins (50), Nate Hand (2), Jim Paisley (88), Robert Bandy (27), Ronald Sadness (36s), Rick Peterson (22)
Heat 2
Reggie Schrank (521), Don Taylor (31), Tom Peterson (307), Karon Deshaw (26), Samantha Swett (X's), Brad Olson (66)
Heat 3
Jeff Wignall (19), Ryan Fulk (9), Doug McIntosh (23), Martin Hansen (16), Colten Baumanm (24)
Heat 4
Blayne Brink (21), Riley Fremont (808), John Garrigan jr. (95j), Logan Hershey, Larry Reub (59)
Reub, Deshaw, Baumanm, Swett, Bandy, R. Peterson, DNF Hershey, Olson, Hansen, Sadness
Fremont, Garrigan, Wignall, Reub, McIntosh, Hand, Robbins, Schrank, Paisley, T. Peterson, Taylor, Deshaw, DNF Fulk, Baumanm, Swett, Brink

2015 Hoosier Tire's BHMST Point Championship
1 574 Don Taylor 31
2 563 Tom Peterson 307
3 561 John Garrigan jr.95j
4 553 Blayne Brink 21
5 552 Jim Paisley 88
6 551 Larry Reub 59
7 549 Riley Fremont * 808
8 548 Nate Hand 2
9 547 Brandon Mills 22
10 540 Jason Robbins 50
11 539 Reggie Schrank 521
12 509 Martin Hansen *16
13 507 Colten Baumanm *24
14 502 Ron Fulk 9
15 468 Ronald Sadness *36s
16 417 Doug McIntosh 23
17 404 Robert Bandy 27
18 378 Karen Deshaw 26
19 339 Jeff Wignall 19
20 316 Logan Hershey 20
21 296 Samantha Swett X's
22 269 Ryan Fulk 11f
23 225 Ed Wagoner 51
24 216 Tyler Mills 14
25 207 Donnie Bandy 28
26 95 Brad Olson * 66
User avatar
3D Racing
Feature Winner
Feature Winner
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 11:26 pm
Location: Rapid City, SD

Return to South Dakota Micro Sprint Tracks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests