Mills Dominates Travis McDonnell Memorial

Discussion Forum for the Black Hills Mini Sprint Tour
South Dakota & Wyoming Micro Sprint Racing

Mills Dominates Travis McDonnell Memorial

Postby 3D Racing » Sun Sep 22, 2013 5:12 pm

Mills Dominates Travis McDonnell Memorial

The full moon, the stars, and the field were all lined up perfectly for part time mini sprint driver Brandon Mills Saturday night in the Travis McDonnell Memorial race at the Heartland Speedway in Rapid City. After a strong 2nd place finish in his heat, Mills started his #22 machine on the front row of the 19 car field along-side rookie Tyler Liebig (55). Mills motored to the outside and took the lead, only to have the race cautioned when the pole sitter looped it around in turn 2. The race was quickly restarted with Alliance NE’s Jeff Wignall (19) as the new pole-sitter. Again, Mills took the lead, only to have it halted again for a 6 car pile-up in turn 2. After the 3rd attempt of a start, the race was on, with Mills at the point and Wignall close behind. Weaving his way through lapped traffic, Mills’ only bobble was in turn 2 when he got a little sideways, went through the infield, bounced off a tire, but had enough of a lead to salvage the lead and the win. Wignall held onto 2nd, while John Garrigan (95j), Doug McIntosh (23), and Jim Paisley (9j) finished out the top 5.
The event honored standout mini sprint driver Travis McDonnell, who tragically lost his life in an accident at home in 2011. Brady McDonnell, Travis’s brother, drove in the event proudly carrying the number 37m, which was the number Travis drove throughout his racing career.
Going into the night, Larry Reub (59) had a slim 1 point lead over John Garrigan in the BHMST Point Championship, but at the end of the night, Garrigan had a 6 point lead over the veteran Reub. 3rd in the points is 13 yr. old rookie Blayne Brink (21), followed closely by Doug McIntosh and Reggie Schrank.
The Black Hills Mini Sprint Tour will wrap up it’s season and crown a BHMST Point Champion next Saturday night in Newcastle, WY.

Heat 1
Donnie Bandy (28), Reggie Schrank (521), Jim Paisley (9j), Derrick Hopkins (13), Cory Ostrom (11)
Heat 2
Tyler Liebig (55), Brandon Mills (22), Larry Reub (59), Samantha Swett (X’s), Kenny Robbins (27k)
Heat 3
John Garrigan (95j), Blayne Brink (21), Brady McDonnell (37m), Karon Deshaw (26), Jason Robbins (50)
Heat 4
Jeff Wignall (19), Doug McIntosh (23), Robert Bandy (27), Tom Peterson (307)

Mills (22), Wignall (19), Garrigan (95j), McIntosh (23), Paisley (9j), Liebig (55), Schrank (521), Reub (59), Peterson (307), McDonnell (37m), Brink (21), J. Robbins (50), K. Robbins (27k), Deshaw (26), Hopkins (13), Swett (X’s), DNF Ostrom (11), R. Bandy (27), D. Bandy (28)
McDonnell Tribute sm.jpg
Travis McDonnell Memorial
McDonnell Tribute sm.jpg (90.18 KiB) Viewed 1803 times
User avatar
3D Racing
Feature Winner
Feature Winner
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 11:26 pm
Location: Rapid City, SD

Return to South Dakota Micro Sprint Tracks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests